Disil's stuff

cleaning phone

My Samsung Galaxy A10s are now officially laggy. I can't run heavy apps like YouTube or even Google search without lag spikes. That's a sign I need a new phone. But.. this phone not even 3 years old. I'm sure there is something I can do to make this phone more responsive again.

First, I start by updating apps from Play Store & F-Droid. It takes a while & make my phone storage more small, but I didn't see a performance improvement or even new major feature. That's fine though.

Second, I start removing apps that I don't use frequently, like Stumble Guys game. A problem appeared. In Windows, when I removed programs I can use my mind to remove the residual junk it has placed on my system. In Android, I used to know where the residual's are by going to /data/ file folder & deleting the apps folder carefully.

Unfortunately for me, since Android 10/11, the data folder is now locked, limited only to /data/media/ file folder. To fix that I need root which I don't want to do because I don't have time to do the adb thing.

I searched for 'system cleaner app' and found some (obviously sussy) cleaner that I'm sure will only put my phone into ads ocean. I found one app that is trustworthy, it is called SD Maid. It is open-source and available on Play Store. Without thinking too much, I decided to buy the pro version. And it works absolutely like a charm. You can clean trash, doing some heavy-file manager operation, or even just batch uninstall apps. I am not promoting it, I just like how the app works.

Onto the next thing (the third one). I was satisfied with the result of SD Maid maintenance. But, playing Roblox is still laggy as hell. Maybe it's because my phone CPU aren't up to it? Or something else idk. So, I came to a conclusion:

My phone is not up to date anymore

In the future when I finished my transition to open-source frontend, I will update this post to see if my phone was just tired of the telemetry from 'big apps' or my phone is just outdated.

#android