Disil's stuff

Why I hate my school uniform

Alright, here's a worrying fact that (probably) any teenagers have experienced at some point in their life.

Smells weird

I mean, I'm not as smelly as some of my friend smell, but it is noticeable in my shirt when I got home from school.

Here in Indonesia, they have rules where you have to wore uniform, from Elementary level up until high school level. That rule is made so “there is no difference between poor & rich students”. In reality, uniform still show the difference between them, from the state of their uniform (one student with clean pristine white vs. another student with bleached uniform)

Another problem with uniform is that some of them are produced and sold by the school itself. Because they're practically the one and only who sell the uniform with 'unique' motif, they can and obviously do monopolistic behaviour.

They were lowering quality of the uniform, but still sell it at high prices. Students are forced to still buy them otherwise they will get into trouble with “not wearing school's uniform”.

Bad material has always plagued school uniform. This is a small issue for kids before their puberty, as they only got sweat. It can be solved by changing uniform every day.

For teenagers after their puberty, it creates concern with smell. Hot weather, combined with teenager's active personality, and also combined with no AC in classroom, makes a perfect condition for bacteria & fungi to live.

I knew I can't solve this problem completely in my puberty age, but I can do some measures to prevent it from going stronger. In the future, I will regularly wear perfume and maybe changing my shirt more often.