Disil's stuff

4 gigs of RAM in 2024

Ah. It's 2024 and here I am, still squeezing the shit out of my laptop with 4gb of RAM and a Celeron CPU. What a great experience. No, I mean it. I mean- it performs better than my mom's laptop which is equipped with Core i5. Probably it depends on the fact that my laptop use SSD, while her are not.

If you still use device like this for basic office editing, I think it would still suffice, provided that you equip them with SSD. To be fair, be careful about write and read operations you do on your SSD. Why? Well, to compensate the small system memory, system automatically use swap as additional memory. That operation is always repeated.

Swap is created from your disk. Yes, it's not as fast as a true RAM, but on SSD it gets the job done. But on HDD? Don't bother. Your system will crawl because the read and write operation is maxed.

In my case, I use my laptop for code development. And lemme tell you something, it performs better than I thought it would be. It loads, and it works 60 fps all the time except when it's time to load something from database or syncing files. In fact, if you strictly used VSCode for coding, it'd be fine.

For normal people use case? It still run perfectly fine for office and even simple graphic editing usage. Heck, some light gaming still works, like CK2 and Minecraft. Be careful with taxing your CPU for prolonged time tho.

So, the question remains, does 4 gigs of RAM in 2024 still enough? Yes, but strictly for simple office usage. Other than that, please upgrade your system. Seriously, for the good of your mental health.


Disil's Stuff by Satria N. is licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0

#thoughts