Disil's stuff

BIM Journey #4 - rewrite, and discarding it

So I asked Michael. It's about the whole essay thingamajig. The thing is, I want the essay to be more specific on "Introducing open-source community to Indonesian people", while my parents want the essay to look more general. And I don't like where that goes.

I don't like how I have to answer the Q1 in sentences like "I want to be an IT analyst, because I see social problems around me. So I want to make IT apps more cheap and fast to be run on weaker systems, which we (as a industrial worker) have."

Meanwhile, my idea is like: "I want to introduce FOSS to Indonesian people. Here, we have a problem where people with low digital literacy that barely know productivity apps, and then they pirate the software because they don't have the money to buy the real one. I want to make them know that there are free alternatives. And I also want to make Indonesia more self-sufficient, instead of relying on capitalistic companies".

You get the idea? That's a lot of difference. So, my progress in this week was rewriting the whole essay to my own idea, and then my mum decided that it is too specific. She had searched people that was accepted on this scholarship, and then she concluded that the essay had to be more general, because interest can change any time.

I mean, it's a good point. But the whole essay thing is to make the evaluator know about my own self at the time of writing the fucking essay. God it's so fucking hard. Help me xD

#bim