Disil's stuff

My Linux journey - Debian 12 reinstall

I had quite a blast with my last SpiralLinux configuration. It works without a fuss, except for this thing: baloo search. For those of you who don't know, baloo is a file indexer program in KDE that'll run in the background, so whenever you search for a specific file, it doesn't have to search recursively one by one.

The catch is, baloo doesn't run well enough on BTRFS. The indexer tends to reindex everything every restart. And file index will grew bigger too. The good thing is, this issue is fixed in the latest KDE Frameworks (v5.111). The bad thing is, Debian probably will not get it until 2 years from now.

The other thing that I don't like about this installation is how BTRFS work. I don't understand it. I knew it is configured finely by default, but I just couldn't shake the feeling of insecure that comes with it. I prefer to use legacy file system like Ext4, because timeshift can work with that.

So yeah, I download a new iso from SpiralLinux website. Surprise, now it came with Pipewire. How wonderful is that! Anyway, long story short, I install it and restored my backup.

Unlike the previous installation, I put some thought before installing heavy-ass packages like wine or virtualbox. I figure that we should do that more often, because it made us more frugal. Think of the internet quotas that wasted on "trying out new packages". And don't forget time wasted on selecting the right dependency in Synaptic.

Tinkering with settings of an OS is fun, but life is not about tinkering OS (unless you're a KDE developer or something). You have life. A whole new experience awaits for you. Go, do something! Achieve your dreams! I believe you can do it!

Jokes aside, but I think we all forget on happiness in life. We were so focused on our problems, that we don't enjoy what's been given by god. So, what do you wait for? Go, enjoy your life while you can!

Probaly the weirdest post in this blog

#linux