Disil's stuff

Nostalgic YouTube moments

This is probably gonna be a nostalgic time so some info maybe a bit biased.

Back in elementary school day, I despised watching YouTube. Why? Because that one time I watch a YouTube video with my friend, the youtuber in the video are really toxic. Ever since then, my own "parental controls" always remind me that watching YouTube = bad.

But then, 2019 came. I had just finished my elementary final exam (ujian sekolah SD), and had nothing to do. Despite my own brain saying "No, don't try that thing again", still, my amygdala says that I should try it, just for fun.

The first time I was immersed in a YouTube video is about some Minecraft content, I think it was the Astonishing channel where the guy heavily use Javanese slang like "mak jetutet" and other stuff. At first I thought it is family friendly, but after hearing some advice from my dad, that the meaning of that specific slang is very bad.

I started to despise Indonesian YouTubers again after that. Because other Minecraft Youtubers are more toxic than him. At the same time, I started to like this dude that upload video about her mum reacting to different kind of OS.

The channel is called OSFirstTimer. It is the first time I watched a content fully in English (albeit with subtitle). The concept of their video is simple. The main guy (Philip) is the one who install all bunch of different OS and software, and then he invited her mum to use and do several tasks with it. As the channel progressed, she tried different kind of games too.

And to his day, he still posts (albeit in a irregular schedule) and I still watch him. Watching his mum still brings memories back to those before-covid era.

random screenshot of roblox gameplay
It's covid era

Covid came. And all of a sudden we had nothing to do at home. I mean- yeah- there is school, but it ain't effective.

I went into a "rapid globalisation" program in that era. I learn a lot of new things. YouTube is one of them. I started to watch science content like Tom Scott and I started to get really nerdy because I watched content from LGR and Michael MJD.

Mid 2020 I was hyped for the Minecraft Nether Update, which turned out to be the last exciting update in Minecraft history (1.21 is meh woo). And of course, I watched a lot of British MC youtubers. Guess it.

Tommyinnit. Yep. I still remember that one stream where he was called by his mum several times, and he tell her to shut up. I learn a lot of bad English words from his videos. And there is also Tubbo, which at that time is the less-chaotic version of Tommy, although in later date they become a chaotic duo.

I don't really follow Dream SMP, so when that whole shebang started I slowly retract my interest in that circle of yotuubers. I don't like following someone's world that is already scripted. Also I suspected Dream's skill, so yeah.

Late 2020 my interest shifted to sims. Sims 2 and 3 to be precise. I watched PleasantSims, Vixella, and other Sims youtubers. But I got pissed off when I see that there is really A LOT of queer in that community. At that time I still consider myself homophobic. I still do now, because of my religion, but I am now more Liberal & didn't give a shit about other people's view anymore.

Early 2021, I am still hooked in Sims, and some Cities Skylines. That's why I also follow imperator and other C:S player in YouTube.

Overall, thanks to YouTube, I learned English pretty well. I also learn more about this world- ranging from why rocket is built that way - to watching alternative scenario if WW2 was won by the Axis.

To be continued