Disil's stuff

thoughts on reddit fiasco

Alright, here's the deal. I knew about the Reddit “blocking 3rd-party apps” fiasco for quite a while. The first time I went to Reddit in months since my failed attempt to find a long-time friend there is on late May.

The first thing that popped into my recommendations is a post from a Subreddit called r/Save3rdPartyApps about planning for Reddit global-scale blackout on June 20th.

Quick search leads me to know that Reddit is ending free API access for 3rd-party apps starting from July 1st. The problem got viral after someone calling Reddit about their own app called Apollo, about the pricing and stuff. Well, I can't explain it thoroughly, but here's the quick summary:

Reddit wants 3rd party devs to pay for API access, which is really expensive. And Reddit communities revolt.

Despite the majority of Subreddit joining the block on 20th of June, Reddit haven't reversed their decision yet. So, there were a lot of plans about “deleting account once it's July”.

IMO, these would not impact Reddit much. Free internet are on the verge of getting extinct for the last few years, even for someone like me who happen to just knew Internet about 5 years. Censorship is getting stronger here and there.

I joined Reddit two years ago (2021) in hope that I can experience free internet environment. And yeah, it does. It still feels the same now, but with the Reddit team kept pushing changes like this, and Mods are blabbering about them every day, I think it is wise to say that Reddit has turned into “typical social media”.

Federated alternatives like Lemmy & Mastodon simply didn't have enough resources to get much attention. After this protest spirits burned up, people simply went back to Reddit and use the official site to waste their time.

Services like that also suffers from stigma of being unreliable, because there are tons of instances available. Normies would be overwhelmed with the choice and probably will go back to the good-old centralized social media.

As for me? Well, I ain't leaving Reddit. There is a lot of information (especially about tech) on Google that mentioned Reddit. I would rather read from something like Reddit instead KDE Forum because it's more fresh and specific. You've probably done it too right?

That being said, I'll try to use Reddit more sparsely. But yknow, most of the time I scroll on Reddit is when I'm using Infinity in my phone. By July 1st, because that app will no longer works, maybe, just maybe, I could detox myself from Reddit. Now let's see if YouTube'll made bad changes that made me unhooked from it.

And, for the final words, I'll say Fuck you, spez.

#thoughts