Disil's stuff

Review of HuggingFace - an open source AI chat

As with all kind of tech stuff, it will always have competition. So far, companies attempt to compete with ChatGPT by OpenAI still seems subtle, and can be ignored. Well, mostly it's because they didn't have the "trained models" as good as ChatGPT, who had been in development since before Covid. Perfection takes time, right?

So today, I found this flatpak apps called Bavarder. Basically it's a Linux apps that allows you to talk with a bunch of AI providers. Still, it requires you getting an API key if you want to use it with GPT model by OpenAI. However, I found a provider that didn't require API key to be used, and it's called Cat GPT. But it turns answer with cat purr sound, so yeah, that doesn't count lol

bavarder interface

Then I pick "HuggingFace" provider from the menu, and tested the bot by commanding it to create a story. It sounds almost the same as ChatGPT. I did a quick search, and found HuggingFace website. It looks really similar to ChatGPT in terms of dashboard, except that it does not require account to use.

It saves the conversation by using the good-old cookies in browser. It runs faster than ChatGPT at generating answers, and I can make continuous story using it. The interface is open-sourced at Github, so if you want to reverse-engineer it you can do it.

The name of the service is ambiguous. Sometimes it mentions HuggingChat, and the other times it would be HuggingFace. But, considering that these thing just came out a few days ago, mistakes were made and it's okay.

hugging face or chat interface

From chat quality (in quick observation), it function almost the same as OpenAI, so starting from now I'll use it instead of ChatGPT with the laggy GPT bot.

Overall, I liked this implementation of "AI thingy" (I still have no idea what name I should use to mention this piece of technology, please forgive me :)

#review