Disil's stuff

Thoughts on Zippyshare shutting down

Well well well. Zippyshare, one of the most known files hosting websites had just announced on their blog that they will shut down at the end of March 2023, which means two weeks from when I uploaded this post.

Back when I was downloading Minecraft mods from the internet if I can choose between a bunch of file hosting, I always choose Zippyshare. Because while the interface looks outdated (and doesn't responsive to mobile browsers), its usability is straightforward. There are no 'fake download buttons

Zippyshare website

It is one of the first file-hosting sites that I knew, and it's still the only one I trust completely. The process is straightforward, unlike that one hosting (cough Mediafire cough) where you have to press the download button 3 times and somehow get redirected to Play Store.

In that blog post, they explain that they're struggling to fund their servers. This is added by the fact that people (including me) use ad blockers.

I think I don't agree with that statement. They should've let their users know that they need funding and open donations. Why they didn't advertise that on their website?

Maybe they are just too tired to maintain these servers. I'm sure their staff is old now, it has been operating since 17 years ago. That's quite long for an independent digital service.

Anyway, old files that are saved here will be gone. They only gave us 2 weeks to back up files (if we had any), and after that, they're done. No more Zippyshare, ever. The problem is that many old sites still save their files on Zippyshare, and it will be gone.

If I were the staff of Zippy, I would provide the big fat database to someone willing to take them. I'm sure there is somebody out there that want to keep up things like that.

In the end, Zippy's had marked an era. Like philosophers said, all good things must come to an end. Maybe it's mediafire that shutting down next, who knows?

#thoughts